Thirty!

Today is Birthday Party Eve and Saturday is my thirtieth birthday!  Thirty seems so grown up but I really don’t feel grown up.  I suppose being married and having a baby and 2 step-sons makes me a grown up but I have yet to start feeling it.  My wonderful friends Dawn and George are hosting my birthday party at their house tomorrow and it should be a whole lot of fun!

In Lyric news, she is 12 weeks old now and is absolutely wonderful.  She just started rolling over the other day and is now impossible to keep still on any flat surface!  She also let out her first laugh the other day!  My mum bought her a Sophie Giraffe the other day and she figured out how to hold on to it today.  I’m so proud of her.  She is chewing and drooling a lot so I think she might be at the beginning of teething.  Luckily the drooling hasn’t left a rash on her face at all so it looks like she didn’t inherit my problem skin after all!  She has been holding her head up for a while now so she is so much easier to play with.  She sits on my lap or James’ lap or in the Bumbo and just smiles away and chews on whatever is within her reach.  She also had a tiny bit of chocolate icing the other day (not my choice — it was all James!!!) and seemed to love it.  Other than that though I don’t want her having any food until she’s at least 5 months old (but preferably 6).  She’s still breastfeeding like a champ and is growing quite well.  We haven’t weighed her in a few weeks but she was over 14 lbs then so she’s probably about 15.5lbs by now.  She wears 3-6 and 6-9 month clothes!  She’s HUGE!!!

It has been really hot here in the last while and there are forest fires in the Okanagan so we’ve had lots of smoke the last two days.  It’s so gross and muggy and smoky that we can’t have our windows open.  Lyric’s lungs are so tiny and she has asthma in her genes so I don’t want to risk her getting sick or having an asthma attack.  We’re going to take her to the pool tonight and will probably hang out there for a few hours since it’s got AC and she loves being in the water.

She’s starting to fuss so I need to go.  My blog posts are so few and far between lately because every time I try to start one she wakes up — she’s definitely a cat napper!

Chillin’ in the Bumbo

In the Exosaucer

Eating the Bunny

Eating Sophie

About katastrofik

I am a 30-something, newly single mother to a kick ass little girl. I love knitting, canning, singing karaoke and growing things. This is a blog about my adventures. View all posts by katastrofik

2 responses to “Thirty!

Leave a Reply

